Checkoff News

United Soybean Board Elects Arkansas Farmer, Jim Carroll III, as Chair

USB annual meeting in St. Louis elects new Executive Committee and sets the course for fiscal year 2021.

ST. LOUIS (December 11, 2019) — United Soybean Board farmer-directors elected Jim Carroll III from Brinkley, Arkansas, as Chair at the annual board meeting on December 11. In addition, 19 new directors, appointed by Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, were sworn in by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

“We’ve made great strides to innovate beyond the bushel and infuse every opportunity we can into growing markets and creating new uses for soybeans,” said Carroll. “We have a lot to be proud of but also have tremendous potential to further demand as we continue our progress through wise and strategic investments. One of my priorities as Chair is to recognize the performance and sustainability of U.S. Soy and show our customers its many capabilities as a renewable alternative.”

USB leadership, with oversight from USDA, guides the activity of the national soy checkoff in accordance with the strategy outlined by the 78-member board. USB continues to focus on three priority areas for investment: meal, oil and sustainability. During the meeting, they considered market impacts, challenges and opportunities that will affect soybean value, hearing from several key industry influencers. USB also recognized the American Soybean Association’s 100th anniversary at the meeting, noting its commitment to domestic and international policy issues important to the soybean industry.

“Our dedicated farmer-directors have developed a strategy that allows U.S. soybean farmers to further realize returns on their checkoff investment. By focusing on areas like shifting consumer patterns, quality improvement, global supply and demand perspectives, biofuels and environmental stewardship, USB can further develop already successful markets for U.S. Soy while keeping an eye on the future,” said Polly Ruhland, USB CEO. “I look forward to working with our newly elected leaders to carry out this strategic vision.”

The board meeting included remarks from Ambassador Gregg Doud, Chief Agricultural Negotiator in the Office of the United States Trade Representative, who highlighted recent trade negotiations and opportunities for U.S. soybean farmers in the international marketplace. In addition, other important sessions included Global Landscape for U.S. Soy Prioritization, High Oleic Soybean Oil, What’s Next? and Capturing Carbon: Agriculture’s Advantage.

At the meeting, USB also elected nine directors to serve alongside Carroll on the Executive Committee.

– Dan Farney, Vice Chair — Illinois

– David Iverson, Secretary — South Dakota

– Meagan Kaiser, Treasurer — Missouri

– Woody Green — South Carolina

– Tom Oswald — Iowa

– Mark Seib — Indiana

– Belinda Burrier — Maryland

– Ralph Lott II — New York

– Andy Fabin — Pennsylvania

In addition, three farmer-directors were elected to serve on the Strategic Management Committee:

– Doug Winter — Illinois

– Ed Lammers — Nebraska

– Philip Good — Mississippi

About United Soybean Board:
USB’s 78 farmer-directors work on behalf of all U.S. soybean farmers to achieve maximum value for their soy checkoff investments. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds in programs and partnerships to drive soybean innovation beyond the bushel and increase preference for U.S. soy. That preference is based on U.S. soybean meal and oil quality and the sustainability of U.S. soybean farmers. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff. For more information on the United Soybean Board, visit


Media Contacts:
Paul Murphy-Spooner at United Soybean Board, 636-681-1254
Mace Thornton at United Soybean Board, 636-681-1263

© 2019 United Soybean Board. All Rights Reserved.

How did you like this article?

Loading spinner